British Isles: countries

Click on the Notes icon to read the explanation of 'countries' in the context of this quiz.
If you are signed in, your score will be saved and you can keep track of your progress.

map of British Isles
Question 1 of     | Score: 0 out of

Quiz mode:
practice question mark icon Practice mode
Three tries to answer. Help and hints in the answers available.
test question mark icon Test mode
Three tries to answer. No help map or hints in the answers available.
strict test question mark icon Strict test mode
One try to answer. No help map or hints in the answers available.

Hold your mouse over the question mark icon symbols above to learn about each quiz option.
Share:     find us on facebook

Tips   x  
The tips box and the important notes box are both draggable, should you need to move them

To zoom the screen, use:
Important notes   x  

  • The British Isles are a group of islands in the North Atlantic off the north-western coast of continental Europe that consist of the islands of Great Britain, Ireland, the Isle of Man, the Hebrides, Orkneys, Shetlands and over six thousand smaller isles.
  • The British Isles are home to two countries:
    1. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (often referred to as just the United Kingdom, or the UK), and
    2. Republic of Ireland (often referred to as just Ireland)
  • Great Britain is the name of the island that consists of England, Scotland and Wales.
  • The island of Ireland contains the Republic of Ireland (often referred to as just Ireland), and Northern Ireland;, which is a part of the UK.
  • The United Kingdom consists of the autonomous regions of: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
  • In the UK, England, Scotland and Wales are referred to as countries, while Northern Ireland is often referred to as a province. Northern Ireland has no history of being an independent country or a nation in its own right.
  • Some of the northern islands of Scotland have been left off the map so that I can present you with a larger map.

  • globe icon indicates that the link will show the location on the map.
    England Wales Scotland N. Ireland Ireland